From the metropolis to the sea and back.

According to current plans, there will be two tracks in 2022: A technically more demanding wild track over 650-700 km and a more direct short track over 450-500 km.

The exact track will be sent to the starters a few days before the Steppenwolf.

Wildtrack

The Wildtrack is a demanding ride: root trails on countless Brandenburg lakes, a selection of the most beautiful pavé in the Uckermark and some small challenges that await you on the picturesque path to the Baltic Sea and back. It is based on the premiere route from 2021, when mainly MTB riders felt comfortable on the track, but a handful of gravel bikers were also able to finish the Steppenwolf. We want to keep the character of the track the same.

From the start in Bernau (near Berlin) there is no warm up, after five kilometers the first trail is waiting. Around Wandlitz and Biesenthal it becomes immediately demanding at small ice age lakes. In the direction of Joachimsthal, you will share the path with the starters of the short track at Lake Werbellin before heading west to the Feldberg, Templin and Lychen lake districts. Last year they were at the end of the track and only 11 of 30 starters had arrived here. After the first checkpoint the landscape changes, from Neubrandenburg the route goes on new paths through the Tollensetal. In Wolgast the island is reached, a cooling in the sea is near. At the second checkpoint, you are already more than halfway there.

Behind Anklam you fly along the nature reserve Stettiner Haff, before the Brohmer Berge bring some variety. Before you get your third stamp at the checkpoint close to Prenzlau, the popular Strasburg cobblestones await you. Behind Unteruckersee, you'll follow freshly scouted routes to Angermünde. From Parstein, the finale is announced: the Oderbruchkante near Bad Freienwalde demands everything again. From there it is not far to the finish back in Bernau.

Shorttrack

The short track is a nice balance between the shortest way and the most exciting landscapes between Berlin and Usedom. You can expect a varied mix of the finest gravel, long forest trails, small plate road and asphalt sections, short challenges on pavé and a few kilometers of flow trail on about 500 km. From the Steintor in Bernau, the first meters will take you out of the city together with the starters of the Wildtrack. The Barnim forest quickly swallows you up and spits you out again at Werbellinsee. After a few kilometers of flow trail, you enter the hilly Schorfheide, where the surface changes constantly. After the first checkpoint near Woldegk, it goes over the Brohmer Berge, then in the flatlands before Usedom only the wind can become a problem. The ferry takes you to the island, where the former Berlin-Swinemünde railroad embankment awaits before you finally reach the Baltic Sea. Before the second checkpoint in the island's hinterland, the route winds along the Achterwasser. The third section starts wildly before the ferry takes you back down from the island. Via Torgelow, the Steppenwolf leads through new terrain to the third checkpoint near Prenzlau. The last stretch leads a little east again, behind Angermünde we could not deny ourselves a little treat of the Chorin cobblestone forest. From the ship's hoist it is then only once up the Barnimschwelle, until you fly along countless small lakes directly back to Bernau.

Von der Metropole ans Meer und zurück.

2022 wird es zwei Tracks geben: Einen technisch anspruchsvolleren Wildtrack über 650-700 km sowie einen direkteren Shorttrack über 450-500 km.

Den genauen Track kriegen die Starter:innen wenige Tage vor dem Steppenwolf.

Wildtrack

Auf dem Wildtrack geht es gut zur Sache: Wurzeltrails an unzähligen Brandenburger Seen, eine Auswahl des schönsten Pavés der Uckermark und einige kleine Herausforderungen, die auf dem malerischen Weg zur Ostsee und zurück auf euch warten. Er orientiert sich an der Premierenstrecke von 2021. Damals haben sich vor allem MTB-Fahrer*innen auf dem Track wohl gefühlt, jedoch konnten auch eine handvoll Gravelbiker*innen den Steppenwolf finishen. Den Charakter des Tracks wollen wir genauso erhalten.

Vom Start in Bernau (bei Berlin) geht es direkt los, nach fünf Kilometern wartet der erste Trail. Rund um Wandlitz und Biesenthal wird es an kleinen Eiszeitseen sofort anspruchsvoll. Richtung Joachimsthal teilt ihr euch den Weg am Werbellinsee mit den Starter*innen des Shorttracks, ehe es gen Westen zur Feldberger, Templiner und Lychener Seenplatte geht. Die lagen im letzten Jahr am Ende des Tracks und nur 11 von 30 Starter*innen waren hier noch angekommen. Nach dem ersten Checkpoint ändert sich die Landschaft, ab Neubrandenburg geht es auf neuen Wegen durchs Tollensetal. In Wolgast ist die Insel erreicht, eine Abkühlung im Meer nahe. Am zweiten Checkpoint ist schon mehr als die Hälfte erreicht.

Hinter Anklam fliegt ihr entlang des Naturschutzgebiets Stettiner Haff, ehe die Brohmer Berge Abwechslung bringen. Bevor ihr am Checkpoint kurz vor Prenzlau den dritten Stempel bekommt, wartet das beliebte Strasburger Kopfsteinpflaster. Hinter dem Unteruckersee geht es auf frisch gescouteten Routen nach Angermünde. Ab Parstein ist dann das Finale eingeläutet: Die Oderbruchkante bei Bad Freienwalde fordert nochmal alles. Von dort ist es nicht mehr weit bis zum Ziel zurück in Bernau.

Shorttrack

Der Shorttrack ist eine schöne Balance zwischen dem kürzesten Weg und den spannendsten Landschaften zwischen Berlin und Usedom. Euch erwarten auf rund 500 km eine abwechslungsreiche Mischung aus feinstem Schotter, langen Waldwegen, kleinen Plattenweg- und Asphaltabschnitten, kurzen Herausforderungen auf Pavé und ein paar Kilometer Flowtrail. Vom Steintor in Bernau geht es auf den ersten Metern gemeinsam mit den Starter:innen des Wildtracks raus aus der Stadt. Schnell verschlingt einen der Barnimer Wald und spuckt einen am Werbellinsee wieder aus. Nach einigen Kilometern Flowtrail geht es rein in die hügelige Schorfheide, wo sich der Belag ständig wechselt. Nach dem ersten Checkpoint bei Woldegk geht es über die Brohmer Berge, danach kann im Flachland vor Usedom nur noch der Wind zum Problem werden. Mit der Fähre geht es auf die Insel, wo der ehemalige Bahndamm Berlin-Swinemünde wartet, bevor ihr die Ostsee endlich erreicht. Vor dem zweiten Checkpoint im Hinterland der Insel schlängelt sich die Route entlang des Achterwassers. Der dritte Abschnitt startet wild, ehe es mit der Fähre wieder runter von der Insel geht. Über Torgelow führt der Steppenwolf durch neue Gefilde zum dritten Checkpoint bei Prenzlau. Das letzte Stück führt nochmal ein wenig Richtung Osten, hinter Angermünde konnten wir uns einen kleinen Leckerbissen des Choriner Kopfsteinpflasterwalds nicht verkneifen. Vom Schiffshebewerk ist es dann nur noch einmal die Barnimschwelle hoch, bis ihr entlang unzähliger kleiner Seen direkt zurück nach Bernau fliegt.